Of Brother-in-laws and Surprises

I’m going to take a break from the challenge today, because I feel that I must show the world the amazing talent of my brother-in-law.

A few weeks ago, my sister and brother-in-law came to town to visit and, being the wonderful little sister that I am, let them sleep in my room. Before they left, my sister informed me that there was a surprise that was left for me. At first, I was quite confused, but after they left I found what she meant. When I went to make my bed the day following their departure, I found this piece of pure brilliance drawn on the wall next to my bed.

Don’t mind the chalk mark circles, they pale in comparison to this masterpiece. I could not believe that I was related, albeit by marriage, to someone with such indescribable talent as my brother-in-law.

I mean, look at the detail of the fur! And the bear’s eyes hold such knowledge. As if he carries the weight of the world on his shoulders, but he continues to smile through it.

I imagine that the bear and pig are two characters that are very well known, but I am unaware as the what the third character is between them. A lizard of some sort, perhaps? A heffalump or woozle? Whatever it may be, I know that my brother-in-law has such great imagination and talent for creating this piece. I don’t plan to take it down anytime soon, that’s for certain. Perhaps someday it will be worth something, when my dear brother is a famous artist! We shall have to see, won’t we?

-Smelly

Song of ze Day: Wouldn’t It Be Loverly by Julie Andrews

Leave a comment